Exploring Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad

Sterling Rescue Awards and Installation Banquet – 2018

2018 Administrative and Operational Officers.

Share This Post

The officers and members of the Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad took a well-deserved night off on 3 February 2018 to recognize and celebrate the achievements of the past year and to install the administrative and operational officers that will lead the organization over the coming year.

During the event, which was attended by Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (VA), Loudoun County Board of Supervisors members Phyllis Randall (Chair), Suzanne Volpe (Algonkian), and Koran Saines (Sterling), and representatives from Loudoun County Fire and Rescue, the department recognized the following individuals for their contributions during the past year:

– Probationary Member of the Year – Anne Eady
– Administrative Member of the Year – Cindy Null
– Operational Member of the Year – James Grant II
– Officer of the Year – Jason Blaesing
– Distinguished Member of the Year – Kathleen Harasek

Sterling Rescue Awards and Installation Banquet – 2018

– President – Samuel Neglia
– Vice-President – Matt Kucik
– Secretary – Jen Ferguson
– Treasurer – Doug Rambo
– At-Large Member – Olivia McLaren
– At-Large Member – Kate Passow
– At-Large Member – Erik Hanna
– At-Large Member – Scott Maurice

Those who will lead the organization operationally in 2018 are:

– Rescue Chief – Al Pacifico
– Assistant Chief (Operations) – Robin Davis
– Deputy Chief (Operations) – James Burke
– Captain (Day Crew) – Jason Blaesing
– Lieutenant (Crew 1) – Olivia McLaren
– Lieutenant (Crew 2) – Kate Passow
– Lieutenant (Crew 3) – David Charlip
– Lieutenant (Crew 4) – Becky Elstad
– Lieutenant (Crew 5) – Steven Schmidt
– Lieutenant (Crew 6) – Matt Kucik
– Lieutenant (Crew 7) – Scott Maurice
– Deputy Chief (Logistics and Special Events) – Stewart McLaren
– Captain (Special Events) – Erik Hanna
– Assistant Chief (Training and Personnel) – Kathleen Harasek
– Captain (Training Administration) – Bill Lyden
– Lieutenant (BLS Training) – Mary Beth Henry
– Captain (Training Coordination) – Kathleen Leary
– Lieutenant (ALS Training) – Olivia McLaren
– Assistant Chief (Rescue Operations) – Byron Andrews
– Captain (Rescue Operations) – Michael Pariser
– Lieutenant (Rescue Operations) – James Grant II

As a special award during the evening, Chief Bryon Andrews was recognized for his 40+ years of service to the organization and the community, with 30 of those years of service as Rescue Chief.

The Sterling Volunteer Rescue Squad also extends its thanks to members of the Purcellville Volunteer Rescue Squad for providing coverage for the evening, so that our members could attend this special event.

Articles by Year